Civic Youth Awards

Celebrating outstanding youth in the City.

The Civic Youth Awards Program recognizes youth between the ages of 10-24 years for noteworthy achievements and contributions to the community.

Each year the City presents awards in six categories as follows:

    Rise Up Award: Recognizes youth who have overcome adversity and recorded noteworthy achievements in some line of endeavour, or have exhibited a commitment to personal change and growth.

    Give Back Award: Recognizes youth who have made positive contributions to the community on a voluntary basis such as serving on a committee and other volunteer work with organizations and groups. All nominees must have provided a minimum of 75 hours of school or community services.

    Kind Heart Award: Recognizes youth who have demonstrated an act of bravery, selflessness or notable deed for the betterment of another. The act may have occurred spontaneously or as part of a group. The act may have occurred locally, nationally or internationally. The act may have bettered the lives of humans or animals.

    Best Youth Friendly Biz Award: Recognizes a business that has performed an exceptional job in hiring or training youth, providing opportunities to youth, or providing funding for youth activities support. Could be for one youth or a number of youth. 

    Awesome Ally Award: Recognizes an adult mentor or service club in providing support and services to youth.

    Outstanding Squad Award: Recognizes a group of youth who have completed a minimum of 50 hours per person of community (or school) service resulting in a program or service of enhancement for their school or community.

Nominations Are Closed

Nominations for the 2024 Civic Youth Awards are now closed. Thank you to everyone who has participated. Receipients will be announced later this spring.

Who Can Apply

Award candidates may be nominated by individuals, non-profit agencies, businesses or other organizations. As stated in the Youth Awards Guildines, criteria includes:

  • A completed Youth Nomination Form (PDF or Word) must be received by the annual deadline.
  • Youth recipients cannot have received an award in the same category from the City within the last three years.
  • The nominator must not be related to an individual nominee, but may be related to one or more members of a group nominee.
  • The nominee does not have to live in the City of North Vancouver but the activities which are being acknowledged must have occurred in the City of North Vancouver.
  • If the nominee is a City of North Vancouver resident, the activities which are being acknowledged may have occurred in another community.
  • The eligible age for nominees is 10 – 24 years of age.

Nomination & Selection Process

Potential nominators should begin by reviewing the Youth Award Guidelines which provides details of the awards. To apply, fill out the Youth Awards Nomination Form and submit it by the deadline.

Submit completed nomination form by the deadline by one of the following methods:

  • Email;
  • Drop off in person at City Hall or in one of the 24-hour drop boxes outside City Hall; or
  • Mail to City Hall
      Community Development Coordinator
      North Vancouver City Hall
      141 West 14th Street
      North Vancouver, BC V7M 1H9

All candidates will be reviewed by the Youth Awards Selection Committee and referred to Council. Council then selects award recipients from the list of nominees.

Past Award Recipients

The following Civic Youth Awards were given in 2023 to:

Rise Up Award Give Back Award  Kind Heart Award  Best Youth-Friendly Biz Award  Awesome Ally Award 
Maya Adair Aryana Mehrkhodavandi Pauline Concepcion
Core Ten  Jennie Nichol 
Alexandra Lamont Bardia Mohammadizadeh   Phoenix Books  Saleema Noon 
Rowan McAuley Yewon Park
  Quay North Urban Development  Lynette Tetlow 
Natalie Macdonald         
Kaysen Moody        
Omid Rezaee        
Alexis Richardson         
Orlando Sommers        
Zeyus Spenta

Outstanding Squad Awards:

 Carson Graham First  Responders   Sutherland Ethics Bowl  Team   Xwemélch’stn After School  Program 
Asal Ahmadi Santiago Barraza  Ayaysha-Brielle Baker 
Savion Atchison Charlotte Davidson  Sarai Baker
Niko Bassianiotis-Johnson  Sara Ehling  Jaden Pomeroy 
Isabel Cardenas  Sophie Harper  Marriah Williams 
Ermia Hamedi  Alexandra Heywood   
Carlo Hancock  Lauren Munro   
Vinuthna Kakasani  Maddie Walker   
Noora Mahram
Julian McLeod     
Bardia Mohammadizadeh     
Kaysen Moody     
Yasseen Nassar     
Jack Polloway     
Ella Rideout     
Chloe Salonga     
Kyle Sanghera     
Ruby Seo     
Martin Stric     
Melody Teymourian     
Ariyan Yanough     


Previous Youth Awards

Share |